Submitted by admin on Wed, 11/19/2008 - 11:13
When I go to the hearing (next week) and sign on the dotted line, does the law say I am officially divorced, or is there some waiting period in Massachusetts? (Posted by 28Heman on the Forum.)
First, at your hearing, the judge must determine that the facts show an irretrievable breakdown of the marriage. Then--usually on the date of the hearing--the judge will enter an order approving the Separation Agreement. Under Massachusetts law, a Judgment of Divorce Nisi will be issued thirty days after that initial order is entered. Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 208, Section 1A states that the Judgment of Divorce Nisi becomes an absolute Judgment of Divorce 90 days later, and then you are officially divorced. So, from the date the Separation Agreement is approved by the court, the whole process takes at least 120 days.