Skip to main content

Can you explain the law about if a person leaves the scene of a car accident without giving information. My daughter was involved in a minor accident and doesn't know if she caused damage to the parked car she hit and now she's wondering what she should do. She's 22. Thanks.

 
Share this with your friends

Editor's Response

She doesn't know if she caused damage to a car that she hit?  Oh boy.  Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90, Section 24 spells out several crimes related to leaving the scene of an accident.
 
If a person leaves the scene of an accident where she caused property damage, she faces a fine of up to $200 and/or a jail sentence of up to 2 years.  If she leaves the scene of an accident where personal injury resulted, the possible fine goes up to $1000 and the possible jail time remains at 2 years.  Finally, if she leaves the scene of an accident where a death resulted, the possible fine is $5000 and the possible incarceration included up to 10 years in state prison or up to 2.5 years in jail. 
Even though from your description it sounds like your daughter is dealing with the lessor of these offenses, I would strongly encourage her to talk to a Massachusetts criminal defense lawyer to discuss the situation and how she should proceed.  Good luck.  
 

Talk to a Criminal Defense Attorney Today
Most offer FREE Consultations
Connect with The Forum
facebook google twitter linkedin


Forum choice